Wetlands of International Importance

The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands of International Importance especially as Waterfowl Habitat is an international treaty for the conservation and sustainable use of wetlands. This convention defines wetlands as, “[A]reas of marsh, fen peat land or water, whether natural or artificial, permanent or temporary, with water that is static or flowing, fresh, brackish or salt including areas of marine water, the depth of which at low tide does not exceed six meters. These areas may incorporate riparian and coastal zones adjacent to the wetlands, and islands or bodies of marine water deeper than six meters at low tide lying within the wetlands”. Kenya ratified this convention in 1990 and currently has 6 sites designated as Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar Sites), with a surface area of 265,449 hectares.

They include:

  • The Tana River Delta
  • Lake Nakuru
  • Lake Naivasha
  • Lake Elementaita
  • Lake Bogoria
  • Lake Baringo